HELP CENTER

Messaging

Messaging on SoundCloud makes it simpler than ever to share what you’ve been working on or listening to, and talk with your listeners, or fellow artists. 

 

How do I write or reply to a message?

 

Web

Click on the envelope icon in the top right of your navigation bar to get to your messages. Clicking one of these conversations will expand the message to show the full conversation and any shared tracks. Messages are grouped into conversations and are ordered by newest to oldest.

To reply to a message, simply write in the text box below the conversation. Here, you can link to other SoundCloud profiles by adding @ before their Profile URL, or add a track or playlist that you think the recipient would enjoy listening to.

 

Image_2016-03-08_at_2.20.59_PM.png

 

You can begin a conversation with other SoundCloud users from here by clicking the 'Write new' button, or from the envelope icons on their profiles. Otherwise, you can share a track or playlist through a message at any time by clicking the Message tab in the Share button below the track's waveform. 

 

Android app

Click on the envelope icon on the top right of your Home screen to get to your messages. Clicking one of these messages will expand the message to show the full conversation and any shared tracks.

To reply to a message, simply write in the text box below the conversation. Here, you can send direct text messages, or add a track or playlist that you think the recipient would enjoy listening to.

 

 

Can I send a message to all my followers at once?

We do not offer the ability to mass message on SoundCloud. 

If you would like to share a track with all of your followers, we recommend sharing the track publicly. Here, it is guaranteed to be pushed to everyone's Feeds. Additionally, your followers can from there repost your public track to their own profile and Feed. This way, their own followers will be able to discover and listen to your music as well, gaining you new fans and followers.

You can share a track or playlist through a message at anytime through the ‘Share’ button 

 

How do I share a track or playlist in a message?

 

Web

You can share a track or playlist through a message at anytime through the ‘Share’ button below its waveform. Go to the Message tab and type in the Profile URL of your recipient. If you are following them, it will auto-fill their name for you.

 

Image_2016-03-08_at_2.19.10_PM.png

 

You can also share a track or playlist through your Messages section by either clicking 'Add track' to add one of your own tracks, or copy-pasting a track URL. The track waveform will then embed within the message.

 

Image_2015-11-02_at_9.55.22_AM.png

 

Android

You can share a track or playlist through a message at anytime through the waveform button next to the text box.

 

Screenshot_2022-12-01_at_13.36.00.png

 

 

 

 

How can I delete a message?

If you have received inappropriate messages from another user, you have the option to delete the conversation so it will no longer appear in your inbox.

When deleting the conversation, you also have the option to report the message for spam. Doing this will help our Trust & Safety Team keep on top of any spam that’s out there.

Please note: If you delete a conversation, and either you or the recipients writes again, the thread will reappear in its entirety.

 

Web

​​Go the the message, and click the trash can icon at the top. The conversation will only be deleted from your Messages inbox, and will still be visible from the other users end.

        Screenshot_2022-11-24_at_10.56.30.png

Screenshot_2022-11-24_at_10.56.53.png

 

Android

Go the the message, and click the three dots at the top right of the screen. Then, click Archive message. The conversation will only be deleted from your Messages inbox, and will still be visible from the other users end.

 

Screenshot_2022-11-24_at_10.57.05.png

 

My friend has access to Messaging on their phone, but I don’t. Why is that?

Currently, we’ve expanded messaging to Android. We will expand messaging to iOS sometime in 2023. However, you can still view all your messages on our website.

Was this article helpful?
9 out of 16 found this helpful